National Independent Automobile Dealers Association
Serving Quality Independent Automobile Dealers Since 1946

Dealer Bond And Licensing Information » South Dakota

Bonds
Required.  Amounts are: $25,000 bond for new and used vehicle dealers; $5,000 for motorcycle dealer; $10,000 for trailer dealers (required only for dealers who sell trailers weighing over 2,000 lbs.); $25,000 for mobile home dealers; $5,000 for snowmobile dealers. 
Dealer License

An individual in the business of selling or advertising sale of vehicles is considered a dealer and must be licensed. Dealer application requirements and renewal applications are filed through the County Treasurer . Investigation of the applicant and the described place of business are conducted by the state dealer inspector.

The place of business must be:

  1. a commercial structure within the state of South Dakota , with a display area for five or more vehicles
  2. in accordance with building codes and zoning laws
  3. location where required books and records are kept
  4. the principal business at the location (cannot be the residence of the applicant).

Dealer License Fees:

new/used vehicle dealer $250.00 dealer ($100.00 renewal)
mobile home dealer $250.00 ($75.00 renewal)
motorcycle dealer $200.00 ($75.00 renewal)
snowmobile dealer $100.00 ($50.00 renewal)
trailer dealer $75.00 ($50.00 re­newal)