National Independent Automobile Dealers Association
Serving Quality Independent Automobile Dealers Since 1946

Recognition Awards

National Quality Dealer of the Year


The National Quality Dealer Award Program began in 1976 and continues to generate much interest and pride for those participating. Awarded annually at the National Convention, the award nominees are honored during a special ceremony and live broadcast, where the National Quality Dealer of the Year is revealed. Nominees eligible for this award are selected on the state level each year for outstanding service to the industry and his/her community. The National Quality Dealer receives considerable publicity in his home state as well as in the trade media.

2019 Recipient is Otto Hahne with City of Cars in Troy, MI 

Ring of Honor


Each year, NIADA selects a person from within the automobile industry to receive NIADA's highest allied industry award, the "Ring of Honor". These are people who have dedicated their careers to the industry…always giving of time and resources to improve the image of the automobile industry and assisting dealer throughout the country. To them, we are deeply indebted to their service.

2019 Inductee is Kirk Brown of AutoZone 


The NIADA Lifetime Achievement Award

The NIADA's Michael R.Linn Lifetime Achievement Award was created to honor individuals who've contributed a career of exceptional and selfless service to the Association, the first being Michael R. Linn on his career and longtime role as NIADA CEO.

           Congratulations to the 2019 NIADA Lifetime Achievement Award recipient:

   Sandra Moss, Dillwyn, VA 

    2014 NIADA Lifetime Achievement Awards recipients:
 Bob Lawrence, Salisbury, MD      Charles Teel, Savannah, GA 
Crystal Eagle Award

CrystalNIADA developed the Crystal Eagle Award on January 1, 2000 to reward those who recruit 100 or more new members to their association within a 24 month period. The Crystal Eagle Award signifies a drive to increase association membership and connect with others. Additional criteria for this accolade are listed under the Eagle Award.

Congratulations to the 2018 Crystal Eagle Awards recipients:

Carolinas Kim Bradshaw - First Nations Auto Sales
Marshall Perry - Marshall's Used Cars
Jerry Padrick - M & M Auto Sales, Inc
Michael Threadgill - Van's Auto Sales, Inc
Steve Wetmore - McAdenville Motors
Darryl Jackson - Crown Auto Sales & Finance
Steve Matthews - Matthews Motors
Kevin Pendergrass - Carolina Auto Sales
Martha Brown - Dris/Vista Holdings Group
Sammy Bernardo - ProGuard Warranty, Inc


Dennis Pope - Peoples Financial


Jose Engler - Irving Motors Corporation

Eagle Award


The NIADA Eagle Award continues to be a coveted award, given annually to qualifying membership producers in each state. To qualify, you must sign at least 20 new members during a twelve month period. The program stands for the member who excels above the rest and is key to his/her association growth. It is customary to present this honor during a State Association event. For members that sign up between 5 and 19 members in a twelve-month period, NIADA presents them with an Eagle Certificate to recognize and support their ongoing efforts to connect more new dealers with their state association.

NIADA/Cox Automotive Community Service Award

This award was created to honor the independent dealers across the nation who contribute every day to their community through special improvement projects, sponsorships, and other financial support that often goes unnoticed. They are provided by an individual company $10,000 toward their preferred charity.

2017 recipient: Steve Matthews, Matthew's Motors, Clayton, NC

NIADA CPO Dealer of the Year

The CPO Dealer of the Year award was created to recognize the quality of dealership operations and the vehicle certification process standards, the volume of CPO sales and the dealer's commitment to providing a better product and level of service to his/her customers and community.

2016 inaugural & 2017 repeat recipient: Todd Hoagey, Auction Direct USA multi-locations in Rochester. NY, Raleigh, NC and Jacksonville, FL.

State Association Executive of the Year



The State Association Executive of the Year award is given by the Association Executives Council to an executive in recognition of outstanding services to his/her association.

  • 2016 - Lisette Mariner - Florida IADA
  • 2015 - Todd O'Connell - Colorado IADA
  • 2014 - Paul John - Georgia IADA
  • 2013 - Jeff Martin - Texas IADA
  • 2012 - Debbie Andersen - Indiana IADA
  • 2011 - Jim Mitchell - Ohio IADA
  • 2008 - Adam Jones - Utah IADA
  • 2007 - Phil Zulli - Pennsylvania IADA
  • 2006 - Jan Merritt - Nebraska IADA
  • 2005 - Larry Peters - Florida IADA
  • 2004 - Jim Robinson - Montana IADA
  • 2003 - Theresa Gamble - Washington IADA
  • 2002 - Al Lentsch - Northland IADA
  • 2001 - Wayne Jones - Utah IADA
  • 2000 - Lois Keenan - Virginia IADA
  • 1999 - Rose Morgan - Oklahoma IADA
  • 1998 - Nancy Chapman - Michigan IADA
  • 1997 - Tony Wilkerson - Alabama IADA
  • 1996 - Bob Corbett - Georgia IADA
  • 1995 - Jerry Fay - Colorado IADA
  • 1994 - Odell Morgan - Oklahoma IADA
  • 1993 - Mike Linn - Carolinas IADA / NIADA
  • 1992 - David Berkstresser - Arizona IADA
  • 1991 - Wanda Wahus - Oregon IADA
  • 1990 - David Boling - Virginia IADA
  • 1989 - Fred Hagan - Florida IADA

State Association Executive Hall of Fame

StateThe State Association Executive Hall of Fame award is an esteemed honor for the selected individual. Inductees are selected by their peers for going beyond the call of duty, exceeding expectations while maintaining the highest standards. This recognition is not given year after year, but rather only when a State Association Executive delivers an exceedingly high caliber performance on a continual basis, all for the good of the association and the used motor vehicle industry.

  • 2007 - Jerry Fay - Colorado IADA
  • 2002 - Odell Morgan - Oklahoma IADA
  • 1994 - Wanda Wahus - Oregon IADA
  • 1990 - George Konrad - Colorado IADA